You are here: Home About us Doctoral candidates in the Senate

Doctoral candidates in the Senate

Since September 2019, the doctoral students have been represented by three members in the Senate, the highest elected council of the university. As regular members, they are entitled to vote and can thus give a clear voice to the concerns and interests of the aforementioned status group.

Elected for one year, membership in the Senate offers doctoral students the opportunity to be acquainted with the internal policies and organization of the University and to contribute shape its future.


To contact the Senators and their representatives in the Permanent Senate Commission and Committee:


The elected Senators for 2021/2022


Friederike Lammert
Institute of Business Law, Work and Social Law

Friederike Lammert studied Law in Freiburg and was already a member of the doctoral representatives in the Senate as well as the faculty council of the faculty of Law. She has been doing her doctorate at the Faculty of Law in the field of patent law and has been working as a research assistant at the chair for civil law and intellectual property since autumn 2020. After representing doctoral candidates for the last year, she wants to continue her work to increase the visibility of her peers - especially in times of the pandemic. She is eager to improve the working conditions of doctoral students in all faculties.

Sebastian Will
Institute of Public Finance and Social Policy

Sebastian Will hopes to represent the doctoral candidates in the Senate for another year. After getting used to university procedures and committees in the last year, he is now well prepared for a second term. He thinks it is important that doctoral perspectives are present in the Senate. Therefore, he always tries to speak up for the interests of young academics and will vote in their favour.

Valerie Ambrosi
Department of Computer Science

Valerie studied Bio- and Neuroscience in Münster, Berlin and Uppsala. She has been a doctoral candidate at the Chair of Gender Studies in STEM (ger: MINT) since 2018. In her project she analysis the negative impact of stereotypes and their influence on brain activity. She is in the Ph.D. convent of the Faculty of Engineering since early 2021 and now wants to represent the doctoral candidates on the level of the Senate as well.

Elisabeth Lichtenberg
Institut of Biology III

Elisabeth Lichtenberg studied biology in Freiburg and started her doctorate in October 2020 at the Institute for Biology in molecular genetics working on RNA metabolism in Cyanobacteria. During her masters she was an active member of the student body of the Faculty of Biology. As member of the Senate, she wants to advocate the concerns and needs of doctoral candidates, especially in science.

Leonard Frank
Institute for Environmental Social Sciences and Geography

Leonard started his doctorate in 2020 at the Faculty of Environment and Natural Resources, working on the governance of sustainability transitions in European agriculture. He returned to Freiburg for his doctoral studies, and is a member of the doctoral convent and faculty council at the Faculty of Environment and Natural Resources. He has extensive experience in student representation at the University Freiburg as well as other universities. Leonard is looking forward to strengthening the viewpoint of doctoral candidates in the Senate and wants to contribute to the representation of early career researchers.


The elected Senators for 2020/2021

The elected Senators for 2019/2020


Representatives in the Permanent Committees for 2019/2020

In order to ensure intensive and successful committee work, the status group of doctoral students is represented in some Senate Commissions by committed doctoral students who are not elected members of the Senate. They are available to all doctoral students concerned as direct contacts for the topics they represent and look forward to content-related assistance and cooperation.


Verena Eisenbeis, M.Sc. 

Doctoral candidate

Institut of Organic Chemistry

Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy


"I am a doctoral candidate in the natural sciences, one of the areas in which equality is still a particular challenge. I would like to be a contact person for all doctoral students who have questions, problems, but also ideas and suggestions on the subject of equality."


- Member of the  Permanent Senate Commission on Equal Opportunity


Sarah Praunsmändel

Doctoral candidate

Centre for Security and Society, Project "ZuRecht - The police in the open society"

Faculty of Law

"As a representative of the status group of doctoral students in the area of gender equality, I am responsible for drawing attention to the potential of the concerned group and for bringing grievances and your concerns to the Senate Commission."


- Member of the Permanent Senate Commission on Equal Opportunity

Lisa Dietel, M.Sc.

Doctoral candidate

Institute for Pharmaceutical Technology and Biopharmacy

Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy


"I see the work in the Senate of the Albert-Ludwigs-University of Freiburg as an opportunity to represent us, doctoral students, as an interest group and thus to draw attention from the existing structures as well as promote structural changes within the faculties. It is important that doctoral students are strengthened during their qualification, thus giving them the opportunity of laying the right foundation at the beginning of their scientific career".


- Vice Member of the Senate Comission for Strategic Planning and Development